Eight Quake Starters Tips

Articles and Guides section, read or write us

Eight Quake Starters Tips

Postby Zennus » 22 Mar 2010 10:49

8 Quake tips for beginners.
I have written these tips for beginners who are enjoying the game and wanting to take it to the next level. It’s important to note that I am no pro. At the time of writing this I would most likely put myself at the division 2 /division 3 level. However, this advice is aimed at new players and I believe that at the least it will promote some outside the square thinking for our up and coming players.

1, Weapon selection:
Mastering any particular weapon in Quakelive includes knowing when NOT to use it. Think logically about what weapon prioritises in any given situation. Factors that will contribute to this decision are position and path and the hit points of both you and your enemy.

Rocket Launcher for close fights, Lightning Gun for medium range fights and rail gun for long range fights. Plasma can be useful for all three but is hard to master, grenade launcher is good to lock down door ways or check on opponent position, and mg can be very handy in range situations if you don't have a railgun to take off a few extra hitpoints

2, Think outside the box:
Solid foundations alone can win you the game. But throwing a curve ball every now and then can win you the game. But remember that it's about assessing risk.

Foundations like timing obviously have a massive impact on the game, it is an skill in itself to be able to keep track of the time on armors/powerups/mega around the map. Thinking outside the box can be important as well, ie: if my opponent has quad in a team death match and I hide, then how can he take advantage of having a quad damage with 0 kills. Another example if I have the flag and always go the same way it can get quickly predictable, changing flag routes often in a match can be tricky for your opponents to keep track of

3, Play people better than you: